Subscribe - the global online resource for all aspects of gastroenterology, hepatology and endoscopy

 05 December 2016

Advanced search - the global online resource for all aspects of gastroenterology, hepatology and endoscopy Profile of Roy Pounder


Review Articles
Slide Atlas
Video Clips
Online Books
Advanced Digestive Endoscopy
Classical Cases
Conference Diary
International GH Links
USA GH Links
National GH Links
National GI Societies
Other Useful Links

Emails on Gastroenterology and Hepatology
the National AIDS Treatment Advocacy Project
Visit the gastroenterology section of the EUMS


Click the Profiles banner above to see a random profile

Click a name in the right-hand column to see the selected profile for that person


Photo of <div style=fiogf49gjkf0dDerek Jewell" align="left">


Dr Derek Jewell is currently Professor of Gastroenterology at the University of Oxford and Consultant Physician at the John Radcliffe Hospital.

He trained in Medicine in Oxford and graduated in 1966. Junior doctor training also took place in Oxford and in Hammersmith Hospital in London, and he subsequently became a trainee in Gastroenterology with Dr Sidney Truelove. During that time, he carried out a number of studies of immunological function underlying the pathogenesis of ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease, and was awarded the Degree of DPhil from the University of Oxford in 1972.

Between 1973 and 1974, Dr Jewell was Assistant Professor in Gastroenterology at Stanford University under the supervision of Dr Keith Taylor. He spent a fascinating, if frustrating year, isolating priortel cells from guinea pig stomachs. He returned in 1974 to take up a Senior Lecturer post at the Royal Free Hospital in the Department of Medicine headed by Professor Dame Sheila Sherlock. He continued his immunological interest in chronic inflammatory disease of the intestine. In 1980, he moved back to Oxford following the retirement of Sidney Truelove.

Dr Jewell is a Member of the British Society of Gastroenterology (President 2001-2002), a Member of the American Gastroenterological Association, a Member of the Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland, and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. He has been Scientific Secretary, Vice Chairman and Chairman of the International Organisation for Inflammatory Bowel Disease and was the Founder of the International Consortium for IBD Genetics. He has been Chairman of the Medical Advisory Committee of the National Association for Crohn's & Colitis in the UK and is currently Vice Chairman of the Medical Advisory Board of Coeliac UK.

He has served on the Editorial Board of Gut, and is currently on the Editorial Board of Alimentary Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, and the European Journal of Gastroenterology & Hepatology and the Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology.

He has published over 250 original papers and the current research interests in the Unit are in the genetics and management of inflammatory bowel disease, and the pathogenesis of celiac disease. His latest book was edited in conjunction with Dr Bryan Warren and Professor Neil Mortensen, and was published by Blackwell Scientific as "Challenges in Inflammatory Bowel Disease".

He no longer works on airplane journeys, but enjoys reading modern novels, and has just finished "The Impressionists" by Kunzai. Music is an important form of relaxation and sounds of the violin or piano can usually be heard after 11pm. He drives an Alfa Romeo 147.

Go to top of page Email this page Email this page to a colleague

Roy Pounder (London)

Peter Cotton (Charleston)
Walter Peterson (Dallas)

Guido Tytgat (Amsterdam)

Miles Allison (Newport)

Peter Devitt (Adelaide)
Michael Farthing (Glasgow)

Stephen Hanauer (Chicago)

Chris Hawkey (Nottingham)
Colin Howden (Chicago)

Richard Hunt (Hamilton)

Samuel Klein (St Louis)

Richard Logan (Nottingham)

Irvin Modlin (New Haven)

Nick Talley (Sydney)


William Balistreri (Cincinnati)
Andrew Burroughs (London)
Amar Dhillon (London)

John Gollan (Omaha)

Ray Koff (Framingham)

Juan Rodés (Barcelona)


Sydney Chung
Rob Hawes (Charleston)

Charlie Lightdale (New York)

Thomas Röesch (Munich)

Brian Saunders (London)

Joseph Sung

Jerome Waye (New York)

Blackwell Publishing is a Blackwell Publishing registered trademark
© 2016 Wiley-Blackwell and and contributors
Privacy Statement
About Us